List of Budgets Presented By Indian Finance Ministers From 1947 Till Date

Friday, March 1, 2013

(Update As On 26th May 2014)

Mr.Arun Jaitley of the Bharatia Janata Party/BJP was sworn in as the Finance Minister of India
wef 26th May 2014 in Narendra Modi's -NDA Cabinet.

The  Indian Union Finance Minister,  P.Chidambaram,  presented the Union Budget 2013-14, on 28th February 2013 in the Lokh Sabha.

Mr.P.Chidambaram had been the Finance Minister of India, of the UPA II Cabinet of Dr. Manmohan Singh, from 31st July 2012 to 26th May 2014.


The 2013-14 Budget is the 82nd Union Budget of India from the year 1947, including:
  • 66 Regular/normal annual budgets
  • 12 interim budgets and
  • 4 special- occasion budgetary proposals / mini budgets.
The first ever  Union Budget of the independent India was presented by the then, the First Finance Minister of Independent India, R K Shanmukham Chetty, on November 26, 1947.
 R K Shanmukham Chetty

The following is a list of Number of Budgets presented by the Union Finance Ministers of India From the year 1947 Till the year 2013:-
Morarji Desai

Morarji Desai- 
( 4 times as the Deputy Prime Minister holding Finance Portfolio and 6 times as the Finance Minister) -
10 TimesThe Highest  numbers of budgets presented by an individual- Finance Minister of India
P. Chidambaram

P. Chidambaram-8 Times- 
The Second Highest  numbers of budgets presented by an individual Finance Minister of India

Pranab Mukherjee-7 Times
Pranab Mukherjee
Yaswant Sinha-7 Times
Yaswant Sinha

Y.B.Chavan-7 Times


Dr.Manmohan Singh-6 Times
Dr.Manmohan Singh

T T Krishnamachari-6 Times
 T T Krishnamachari

R Venkatraman -3 Times
R Venkatraman

H M Patel-3 Times

H M Patel
Jaswant Singh-2 Times
Jaswant Singh

V P Singh-2 Times

V P Singh

C Subramaniam-2 Times
C Subramaniam

John Mathai -2 Times
 John Mathai

R K Shanmukham Chetty-2 Times
 R K Shanmukham Chetty

Jawahar Lal Nehru -(As the Prime Minister holding Finance Portfolio)-1Time
Jawahar Lal Nehru

 Indira Gandhi- (As the Prime Minister holding Finance Portfolio) -1Time
Indira Gandhi

 Rajiv Gandhi-(As the Prime Minister holding Finance Portfolio) -1 Time
 Rajiv Gandhi

Charan Singh -(As the Deputy Prime Minister holding Finance Portfolio)-1Time
Charan Singh

N D Tiwari-1 Time
N D Tiwari

Madhu Dandwate-1 Time
 Madhu Dandwate

S B Chavan-1Time
 S B Chavan
Sachindra Chaurdhuri -1Time
 Sachindra Chaurdhuri
Related Reading:


Post a Comment

Comments 0 comments

Subscribe feeds rss Recent Entries

Search For More Information

Popular Posts

Site Meter